Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna

Brand Name

List of cricketers who have received the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award.

Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award so far

Friday, 13th August 2021

The Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award for Sports and Games is India's highest sporting honour. The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports bestows this honour on a young person each year. The recipients are recognised for their “spectacular and most outstanding performance in sports over a four-year period” at the international level.

The award, which was established in 1991-92, was given based on a sportsperson's performance over the course of a year. Later that month, in February 2015, the criteria were revised to reflect performance over a four-year period. Chess Grandmaster Viswanathan Anand was the first recipient of the award, for his performance in 1991-92. We will list the cricket players who have received this award in this article.


Also Read: England vs. India, 2nd Test Preview: India Aims For Better Batting Performance, Series Lead at Lord's


1997-98: Sachin Tendulkar

For his performance in 1997-98, Indian legend Sachin Tendulkar became the first cricketer to receive the prestigious Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award. By the end of 1997, the Master Blaster had played 231 international cricket matches for India. In these games, he scored 9940 runs at a 43.21 average. There were 26 centuries and 54 fifties among them.

Tendulkar had previously been the leading run-scorer in the 1996 Cricket World Cup. He scored 523 runs in seven innings, averaging 87.16 and striking out 85.87 percent of the time. During the tournament, he slammed two hundreds and three half-centuries. Sachin became the first cricketer to receive the Bharat Ratna Award.


Also Read: According to a new study, dogs can sometimes tell when people are lying to them.


2007-08: MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni, one of India's greatest captains, received the Khel Ratna award in 2007-08. He captained the Indian team to victory in the 2007 T20 World Cup. The Indian team won the inaugural edition with a thrilling victory over Pakistan in the final.

Dhoni appeared in 538 matches across all formats, scoring 17266 runs at an average of 44.96. He was the Indian team's captain for 332 games, winning 178 of them. He is the only captain to have won all three ICC trophies: the ODI World Cup, the T20 World Cup, and the Champions Trophy.


2018: Virat Kohli

In 2018, Indian captain Virat Kohli received the Khel Ratna Award. He is regarded as one of the greatest cricketers of all time, and arguably the greatest ODI player of all time. The Indian team reached new heights in Test cricket under his captaincy.

Until now, the prolific batsman has scored 22818 runs in 435 International cricket matches. In these games, he has an excellent average of 55.78 and has slammed 70 centuries and 115 half-centuries. Under his captaincy, India has won 128 of 200 games.


2020: Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma, the Indian opener, is the latest recipient of the Khel Ratna Award. He scored the most runs in the 2019 Cricket World Cup. In the tournament, Rohit scored 648 runs in 9 innings with an average of 81 and a strike rate of 98.33. He also set a World Cup record for the most centuries (5) in a single tournament.

Rohit has been in sublime form since he was given the responsibility of opening the ODIs in 2013. In the fifty-over format, he has a record three double centuries. He was also the first Indian player to appear in 100 Twenty20 International matches.


The News Talkie Bureau



Top Stories
Download video from a Converthub online ..
Impact Feature: अमेरिकन ..
South Newsmakers of Week: Ram Charan & S..
What Makes Gandhis CWC a Team Amidst the..
Kerala Sees a Dip in Total Covid-19 Case..
Bangladesh “Just not Good Enough”, S..
Udanpirappe Movie Review: A family drama..
5 Superfood-Enriched Products for Health..
5 Superfoods Against Anxiety and Stress..
5 Small Lifestyle Changes You Can Make t..